Gluten- and guilt-free peanut butter bars

Flourless Peanut Butter Bars

I love peanut butter. There, I said it. I love peanut butter with an unbridled, unabashed love. The kind most people reserve for chocolate. (Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate too.) When I get a peanut butter cup, I like to eat away the chocolate first so I can concentrate on the purity of the peanut butter core. I. Love. Peanut butter.

This recipe is healthy enough for breakfast, decadent enough for dessert, and addictive enough to eat at every moment in between. Enjoy.

Thanks to Well Plated for the inspiration.

Flourless Peanut Butter Bars

Ingredients
1 cup natural creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/3 cup unsweetened coconut

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray an 8×8 baking pan with cooking spray
Mix all the ingredients together, except the chocolate chips and coconut, until they change consistency and start to form together into a sticky ball – about 30 seconds or so
Add the coconut and chocolate chips and mix in
Don’t eat all the dough (it will be hard)
Press whatever is left into the prepared pan. PRESS.
Bake for 22 minutes
Immediately upon taking the bars out of the oven, press down again with a spatula to flatten
Let cool, cut into 16 squares, enjoy.

14 responses to “Gluten- and guilt-free peanut butter bars

  1. I’m glad you note the important step of don’t eat the dough because I was just thinking at that point it all already sounds good why not just start eating now!!

    Like

  2. I totally do the same thing with peanut butter cups!! I love peanut butter smoothies, salt water taffy, brownies, ice cream, and just plain ol by itself! Oh and on apples too!! Lol my love for peanut butter is real!

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness these look so good! Are they best eaten the day of, or do they hold up in an airtight container for a day or two? Do they hold their shape really well or are they a little crumbly? I love making flourless sweets but know they can go one way or the other when it comes to texture and consistency so I just like to be prepared 🙂 These look so good!

    Like

    • Hi Marlynn – all excellent questions! If you squish them down with the spatula as soon as you take them out of the oven and let them cool before cutting, they hold their shape really well and take on a sort of brownie texture. You can pick up the whole thing like a bar without it falling apart. (You can sort of see in the picture what the consistency of a cut one looks like – it’s pretty dense.) The longest we’ve gone before them all disappearing is 3 days, and they are still good then. I hope you make these – they really are delicious, grain-free or no.

      Like

  4. Oh my! You had me at peanut butter! Pinned to try for sure!! YUM!!

    I think you should add at the end to try not to eat all of them in one sitting, but I like your suggestion above to double the batch so you don’t feel guilty if not all the dough makes it to the oven. 🙂

    Like

  5. I made these last night… Well a version of them. We didn’t have chocolate chips so I used cocoa powder. We also didn’t have brown sugar so I used white sugar (at least I think that’s what was in the unmarked jar) and a little honey. Mine were super tasty but definitely crumbly. I didn’t see the suggestion about mashing them down after baking til just now.
    Super yummy!! Thanks for sharing this Ali!

    Like

    • I wonder if the cocoa dried it out a little? Packing it down right when it comes out definitely helps with the crumbliness and makes it into a dense bar texture. I’m glad you tried it!

      Like

  6. Ok, I need to try making these. I work as a nanny in gluten-free family, and I feel I should learn how to make few meals and desserts I could share with them

    Like

Leave a Reply

