Knitting Pattern: Fox and Bunny Blanket

IMG_7949

Please ignore the poor blocking.

My brother and sister-in-law recently welcomed a new baby. My sister-in-law chose a fox and bunny theme for the nursery, and I was excited to take a shot at creating a similarly-themed blanket for my new niece. The blanket is lined in flannel for an extra-soft blanket – and more practically to cover up the back-end of some pretty extensive intarsia.

IMG_7944

The blanket evolved quite a bit, so I’m a bit hesitant to include the pattern for the entire blanket. But I am including links here to all the intarsia bits – the foxes on the bottom, the bunnies on the top, the middle pattern, and the flowers. If you want to take your chances with the whole blanket, send me an email (runknitlove (at) gmail (dot) com) and I’m happy to send it your way.

I like that there is a lot of tactile interest on this blanket – it would be a nice play mat or cozy blanket.

IMG_7953

Here are the patterns. All the knitting was done using size 7 circular needles and Cascade Superwash 220 yarn.

Rabbit detail:

IMG_7947 bunny

Fox detail:

IMG_7948 Fox

Fox and bunny center:

IMG_7946 detail fox and bunny

Flower detail (middle of the left and right sides)

flowerThe crocheted flowers are based largely on this pattern, although I didn’t do the second chain 4 in each petal. IMG_7945

Now off to the post office to send this off to my new niece. I’ve got a bunch of little stuffed animals planned next to take a break from such a big project – and to give my own kids a treat. I have a good friend with a baby due in 5 months, and will probably turn to something for her next. Any ideas?

3 responses to “Knitting Pattern: Fox and Bunny Blanket

  1. Looks great! How sweet of you to make something for your new niece out of love! I’m sure she’ll get great use out of it over the years and treasure it forever. 🙂

    Like

  2. Looks wonderful! While I have never knitted, my mom was always big into quilting when I grew up and her quilts are some of my most cherished gifts… i still have them today!

    Like

Leave a Reply

