My Kid Can’t Eat This

Have you seen the Instagram feed #mykidcanteatthis? It’s one of those funny-because-it’s-true, or is it sad-because-it’s-true things. You laugh and then you cry, because for the love of Pete, how many days in a row can your child subsist on egg noodles and strawberries? This is not a rhetorical question! How many, I ask you?

My two boys are actually pretty good eaters. My daughter, however – true to form – has some strong opinions on what should go into her mouth. In no particular order, here is a sampling of the shunned foods from the past week. While normally the rationale is “I don’t like it because I don’t,” these ones deserved some extra hate piled on.

IMG_6296

Apple: “I don’t like the stripey ones with the lines because it makes my mouth want to spit it out.”

IMG_6364Yogurt: “It’s too ugly.”

IMG_6363

Shrimp: “Did it used to be real shrimp and now it’s dead? I don’t want it.”

7973943306_57aeebc7fd_o

Image courtesy Chris Hsia

String cheese: “It’s too white and too squishy.”

IMG_6365Quesadilla: “It’s too yummy for me.”

Let’s hear it. What are some of your kids’ reasons for rejecting the very substance that nourishes them?

8 responses to “My Kid Can’t Eat This

  1. LOL – these are great! My daughter used to eat anything & everything and is now the pickiest eater ever. She doesn’t like water because “it’s too boring” and she will only eat blueberries of a certain size because she says the small ones are more sour. She also won’t eat unbreaded chicken because “it tastes too much like chicken.” OY. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

