Recipe: Farmers Market Summer Salad

farmers market summer salad

I look forward to this week all year. Not because of Mother’s Day, but because it’s the week our local farmers market opens. I love the community of it – running into neighbors and mommy group friends and running partners. I love being outside on an adventure with my kids. Most of all I love the way the food tastes. A fresh strawberry is like a totally different fruit from the kind you buy in the store. Warm from the sun, sweet and tangy, with just the right amount of give.

When those strawberries are ripe, I like to make this Farmers Market Summer Salad. It’s salty and sweet, crunchy and tender. And best of all, it takes less than 5 minutes to make. We usually round it out with salmon for a full meal.

Farmers Market Summer Salad

One head of your choice of lettuce, chopped
1 cup of strawberries, quartered or halved depending on size
2-3 ounces of feta cheese (more or less to your taste)
Handful of hazelnuts, chopped
Handful of sugar snap peas, strung and chopped in thirds
One mandarin or small orange
Two tablespoons olive oil
Salt

Combine the lettuce, strawberries, feta, hazelnuts and peas. Squeeze the juice of the orange over the salad. Drizzle the olive oil on top. Add a pinch of salt. Toss well to coat. Try not eat all the strawberries out of it before dinner.

9 responses to “Recipe: Farmers Market Summer Salad

  1. I would love to stir-fry this and use this as filling in my corn tortilla for a yummy brunch 😛
    Juz give it a try!

    Like

  2. I seriously love fresh fruits and veg! There isn’t anything like it. Salads taste SO much better. Thanks for sharing! Love this recipe.

    Like

  3. I’m with you! I’m stoked for the beginning of farmer’s market season, especially since it means I won’t have to drive all the way to the Portland Market at PSU for my local deliciousness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

